Board of Trustees

The Arts Centre Te Matatiki Toi Ora is an independent charitable trust governed by a board of trustees. The board ensures The Arts Centre fosters, promotes and facilitates interest and involvement in art, culture, creativity, creative industries, entrepreneurship and education.

Murray Dickinson


Murray brings extensive governance & financial experience to his position of Chair of the board. He is the chair of the Finance & Audit Committee at Rangi Ruru Girls' School, and a director of eight N Find out more

Maria Ryan-Young

Board member

Maria returned to her home town of Christchurch in 2020 to take up the position of Managing Director of Harvey Cameron, and joined the board as Intern Director in March 2021. Find out more

Mark Russell

Board member

Mark joined the board of trustees in 2017. He has been in practice as a commercial lawyer for 35 years. Find out more

Dr Rod Carr

Board member

Prior to his retirement in February 2019, Dr Rod Carr was vice-chancellor at the University of Canterbury for 10 years. Find out more

Corban Te Aika

Board member

Corban (Ngāi Tahu) was appointed to the board of trustees in July 2021. Find out more

Edward Sparrow

Board member

Ed is a commercial advisor with 30 years’ experience operating with businesses and corporates. Find out more

Lee-Ann Joy

Intern Director

Lee-Ann has returned home to New Zealand bringing with her over twenty years’ experience dedicated to art and design. Find out more

Senior Management Team

The Arts Centre Te Matatiki Toi Ora employs around 30 staff (22 FTE's) including educators, stonemasons, labourers, creative/programmes, administrators and management staff. They are led by a senior management team headed by the director who reports into the board of trustees. There is also a growing number of Arts Centre volunteers.

Philip Aldridge


Daniel Stirland

Operations Manager

Sheryl Keeley

Finance and Administration Manager

Chris Archer

Creative Director